Faculty Directory

Pitt Law professors have defined bioethics, illuminated discrimination, and clarified intellectual property disputes. They advise the founders of new democracies and provide perspec­tive on civil liberties in the United States.

Pitt Law has led the move to free worldwide online sharing of legal and judicial scholarship with JURIST, publishing international news and primary source documents. The school also sponsors legal symposia for industries from health care to natural gas and brings experts to campus for formal lectures and informal debate.

Full Time Faculty

Jessie Allen
Associate Professor of Law
jallen@pitt.edu
(412) 624-2175
Kevin Ashley
Professor of Law
ashley@pitt.edu
(412) 648-1495
(412) 624-7496
Professor of Law
ebaylis@pitt.edu
(412) 867-8690
Associate Dean for Research & Faculty Development
John E. Murray Faculty Scholar and Professor of Law
dlb21@pitt.edu
(412) 648-2655
Academic Director, CILE
rbrand@pitt.edu
(412) 648-1307
Ben Bratman
Professor of Legal Writing
Coordinator, Legal Writing Program
beb9@pitt.edu
(412) 383-7671
Assistant Professor of Legal Writing
astval@pitt.edu
(412) 648-1490
William Carter, Jr.
Professor of Law
william.carter@law.pitt.edu
(412) 383-0493
Judge J. Quint Salmon and Anne Salmon Chaired Professor
patchew@pitt.edu
(412) 648-1387
Mary Crossley
Professor of Law
crossley@pitt.edu
(412) 648-5300
Vivian Curran
Distinguished Professor of Law
vcurran@pitt.edu
(412) 648-1393
Gerald S. Dickinson
Associate Professor of Law
jerry.dickinson@pitt.edu
(412) 624-2415
Greer Donley
Assistant Professor of Law
donley@pitt.edu
(412) 648-1359
Phil Hackney
Associate Professor of Law
phackney@pitt.edu
(412) 383-0434
Vice Dean of the University of Pittsburgh School of Law
Professor of Law
hamoudi@pitt.edu
(412) 624-1055
David A. Harris
Sally Ann Semenko Endowed Chair
daharris@pitt.edu
(412) 648-9530
Professor of Law
hibbitts@pitt.edu
(412) 648-2360
Anthony C. Infanti
Christopher C. Walthour, Sr. Professor of Law
Affiliate Faculty, Gender, Sexuality & Women's Studies Program
infanti@pitt.edu
(412) 648-1244
Jaqui Lipton
Assistant Professor of Legal Writing
JDL103@pitt.edu
(412) 383-3207
Jules Lobel
Professor of Law
jll4@pitt.edu
(412) 648-1375
Clinical Associate Professor
Director of the Environmental Law Clinic
macintyre@pitt.edu
(412) 624-4109
Professor of Law and John E. Murray Faculty Scholar
madison@pitt.edu
(412) 648-7855
Martha M. Mannix
Clinical Associate Professor of Law and Gloria McDermott Hickton Professor of Elder Law
mmannix@pitt.edu
(412) 648-1390
Peter B. Oh
Professor of Law
poh@pitt.edu
(412) 648-1101
Associate Dean for Equity and Inclusive Excellence
Director - Health Law Clinic
Clinical Associate Professor of Law
tnb25@pitt.edu
(412) 648-5476
Ann Sinsheimer
Professor of Legal Writing
ans24@pitt.edu
(412) 648-1281
Alice Stewart
Clinical Assistant Professor of Law
als243@pitt.edu
(412) 624-7857
David Thaw
Associate Research Professor of Law
Assistant Research Professor of Computing & Information
dbthaw@pitt.edu
Sheila I Vélez Martínez
Jack & Lovell Olender Professor of Refugee, Asylum, and Immigration Law
siv7@pitt.edu
(412) 383-9897
Lu-in Wang
Professor of Law
lu-inwang@pitt.edu
(412) 624-2329
Professor of Law
wasserma@pitt.edu
(412) 648-1338
Amy Wildermuth
Dean of the University of Pittsburgh School of Law
amy.wildermuth@pitt.edu
(412) 648-1401

Emeritus Faculty

Douglas M. Branson
W. Edward Sell Professor of Business Law
branson@pitt.edu
Professor of Legal Writing
brostoff@pitt.edu
(412) 648-2364
John M. Burkoff
Professor Emeritus of Law
burkoff@pitt.edu
Nancy M. Burkoff
Professor Emeritus of Law
nburkoff@pitt.edu
Kevin Deasy
Associate Dean of Students
deasy@pitt.edu
(412) 648-5642
Harry M. Flechtner
Professor Emeritus of Law
flecht@pitt.edu
(412) 648-1395
Professor Emeritus of Law
caf@pitt.edu
John E. Murray Faculty Scholar
frolik@pitt.edu
(412) 648-1363
Professor Emeritus of Law
rblaw@pitt.edu
Professor Emeritus of Law
hellman@pitt.edu
(412) 648-1340
Professor Emeritus of Law
wvl@pitt.edu
Professor Emeritus of Law
mahoney@pitt.edu
Alan Meisel
Professor Emeritus of Law
meisel@pitt.edu
(412) 648-1384
Professor Emeritus of Law
tr1@pitt.edu
Professor Emeritus of Law
RHseeburger@aol.com
Professor Emeritus of Law
sls6@pitt.edu

Jurist Fellows and Professors of Practice

Professor of Practice
kca13@pitt.edu
(412) 624-6434
Charles C. Cohen
Professor of Practice
chuck.cohen@dentons.com
(412) 624-2829
Professor of Practice
sad111@pitt.edu
(412) 648-5966
The Honorable D. Michael Fisher
Distinguished Jurist Fellow
dmf18@pitt.edu
Distinguished Jurist Fellow
judge_judith_fitzgerald@yahoo.com
(412) 594-3933
Professor of Practice
bretgrote@yahoo.com
412-654-9070
Professor of Practice
herringd@pitt.edu

Visiting Faculty

Visiting Associate Professor of Law
joshua.galperin@pitt.edu
412-383-4515
Visiting Professor
Visiting Professor of Practice
lauriemarin@pitt.edu
412-643-0430
Professor of Practice  
marilynixon@pitt.edu
412-383-4411
Visiting Professor
jut13@pitt.edu
(412) 624-2450
Visiting Professor of Law
Walter Floersheimer Professor of Constitutional Law at the Benjamin N. Cardozo School of Law, Yeshiva University

Adjunct Faculty

Adjunct Professor of Law
sara_burhan@yahoo.com
412-586-7409
Adjunct Professor of Law
akersr@aol.com
Adjunct Professor of Law
lynn.alstadt@bipc.com
412-562-1632
Adjunct Professor of Law
abaum@mbo-pc.com
412-338-4743
Jackie Belczyk, Adjunct Professor of Law
Research Director, JURIST
belczyk@pitt.edu
(412) 648-1386
The Honorable Cathy Bissoon
57th Commissioned Judge, U.S. District Court, Western District of Pennsylvania
Adjunct Professor of Law
drallenblack@verizon.net
Adjunct Professor of Law
paulboas@comcast.net
Adjunct Professor of Law
eduardohbozzo@gmail.com
Adjunct Professor of Law
cchannel@leechtishman.com
412-394-6556
Adjunct Professor of Law
suecohen@katz.pitt.edu
412-648-1707
Timothy Conboy
Adjunct Professor of Law
tim@conboylaw.com
Adjunct Professor of Law
jcorbelli@babstcalland.com
412-394-5649
Mary Nell Cummings
Adjunct Professor of Law
mncummings@pitt.edu
(412) 383-5061
Adjunct Professor of Law
EDater@schnader.com
412-577-5214
Assistant Federal Public Defender
marshalldayan@gmail.com
412 644-6565
Adjunct Professor of Law
ceciledes@yahoo.com
Adjunct Professor of Law
sdiaz@diazlaw.net
Adjunct Professor of Law
mrdivelbiss@jonesday.com
412-394-7297
Adjunct Professor of Law
Adjunct Professor of Law
ralph.fischer@bipc.com
412-392-2121
Adjunct Professor of Law
sfrietsche@womenslawproject.org
412-281-2892
Amanda Gerstnecker
Adjunct Professor of Law
Adjunct Professor of Law
sgilson@pitt.edu
412-383-0413
K. Mark Hall
Adjunct Professor of Law
mark_hall@pawd.uscourts.gov
412-208-7475
Adjunct Professor of Law
tho5@pitt.edu
Founding Director, Institute for Cyber Law, Policy, and Security
cyber.institute@pitt.edu
Adjunct Professor of Law
lhitt@reedsmith.com
Adjunct Professor of Law
thomas.hitter@pitt.edu
412-383-0469
Adjunct Professor of Law
Program Director of the Human Resources Law Online Graduate Certificate Program
jsh18@pitt.edu
(412) 383-3489
Adjunct Professor of Law
jeiole@jonesday.com
Adjunct Professor of Law
adam.kelson@klgates.com
(412) 209-2512 , (412) 209-2573
Adjunct Professor of Law
ojkim23@yahoo.com
Adjunct Professor of Law
rlevine@aldlawfirm.com
412-338-9030
Adjunct Professor of Law
lisazmarcus@gmail.com
reid.p.meyer@us.pwc.com
412-355-7659 (Office)
412-228-1474 (Mobile)
Adjunct Professor of Law
trobinsonmock@pitt.edu
(202) 643-2724
Adjunct Professor of Law
Adjunct Professor of Law
mmn40@pitt.edu
Adjunct Professor of Law
spaschall@lbhmlaw.com
(412) 392-2502
Associate Professor of Psychiatry & Adjunct Professor of Law University of Pittsburgh
rozeljs@upmc.edu
(412) 864-5013
Jaromír Šavelka
Adjunct Professor of Law
j.savelka@gmail.com
(412) 624-7048
Adjunct Professor of Law
stephanie.schreiber@bipc.com
(412) 316-7365
Adjunct Professor of Law
selep@zklaw.com
Director, Barco Law Library
marsil@pitt.edu
(412) 648-1376
Adjunct Professor of Law
Adjunct Professor of Law
jsukits@katz.pitt.edu
412-648-1709
Adjunct Professor of Law
stanzilli@pointpark.edu
Adjunct Professor of Law
tashbook@pitt.edu
(412) 648-1303
Adjunct Professor of Law
dtorrey@state.pa.us
(412) 338-1168
Adjunct Professor of Law
jov15@pitt.edu
Adjunct Professor of Law
Adjunct Professor of Law
Robert Wible
Director of Academic Success and Bar Exam Services
rwible@pitt.edu
(412) 624-3055
Adjunct Professor of Law
Wysor@pitt.edu

Affiliated Faculty

Affiliated Faculty
kclay@andrew.cmu.edu
412-268-4197
Affiliated Professor of Law
Affiliated Professor of Law
tbh16@pitt.edu
Affiliated Professor of Law
Affiliated Assistant Professor of Law
jes98@pitt.edu
(412) 648-9365
Director, JD/MPH Program, Graduate School of Public Health
evannostrand@pitt.edu