Student Moot Court Board

Student Moot Court Board

The University of Pittsburgh School of Law Moot Court Board organizes and administers the Murray S. Love Trial Moot Court Competition, the Appellate Competition, and the Negotiations Competition. However, Board members do not perform solely administrative work. All associate members must also complete an academic component during each year of Board service by working in a group that researches and creates a competition problem. Board members who complete the requisite academic and administrative duties are eligible to receive one credit per year (two semesters) of Board service. (These are classified as credits for activities, as are credits for service on a journal, and students may count only six activities credits toward their graduation requirements.)

Board membership is limited to a maximum of eight students per year and includes a mixture of second-year and third-year students.

2021-2022 Student Moot Court Board

The board members are as follows:

  • The Honorable Judge D. Michael Fisher - Faculty Advisor
  • Paige H. Forster, Esq. - Faculty Advisor 
  • Shelby Bennett, 3L - Chair
  • Emilia Beuger, 3L - Co-Vice Chair
  • Alayna Roberts, 3L - Co-Vice Chair
  • Kyle Bobeck, 2L
  • Darren Campuzano, 2L
  • Michaela Kluska, 2L
  • Lauren O'Grady, 2L

Membership and Selection

Selection of board members is a competitive process that takes place during the spring term and over the summer.

Pursuant to the Board’s bylaws, the faculty advisor and the Board assess candidates in three areas: 

  1. Moot court experience, including experience prior to law school; 
  2. Leadership and organizational experience; and 
  3. Academic performance and references. 

Absent substantial accomplishment under (1) and (2), only students with a minimum grade of A- in Legal Writing will be selected. The chair is chosen by the faculty advisor, in consultation with the Board.

Students who serve on the board during their second year are eligible to apply for a second term for their third year. As membership generally precludes competing in the competitions that the Board administers, some board members serve one year and compete in either or both of the competitions during their other year.

Questions regarding service on the board or applying for membership should be directed to the current student chairperson or the faculty advisor, Judge D. Michael Fisher or Paige Forster.