UPLAA Committees

Alumni wishing to serve on any of the below committees are encouraged to contact the Honorable Mary Jane Bowes, current President of the Board of Governors.

Alumni Reception and Reunion Committee

The Alumni Reception and Reunion Committee assists the Office of Development and Alumni Affairs in planning and executing all details relating to the Board of Governor’s signature events for Reunion Weekend, including outreach to reunion classes, recruitment of sponsors for the reunion program, and planning of reception and reunion weekend events.  Committee members will be asked to assist with one or two reunion classes.

Committee Members: Dan Tarr, Joe Moran, Max Beier, Hon. Kim Eaton, Dan McGrogan, Kerven Moon, Stu Benson, Alyssa Zottola

Distinguished Alumni Committee

The Distinguished Alumni Committee solicits nominations and gathers information on alumni for consideration and vote by the full Board of Governors for the Distinguished Alumni Award, the Young Alumni Award, and the Public Service Award, which is presented annually at the Distinguished Alumni & Law Fellows Dinner in May. Committee members participate in early consideration of candidates, and proposals and selection of awardees.

Committee Members: Hon. Phil Ignelzi, Leland Schermer, Joseph Bosick, Stu Benson, Dorothy Davis, Mike Nelson, Lisa Lenihan, Dan McGrogan, Katie McLay, Hon. Christine Ward

Scholarship Committee

The Scholarship Committee awards annual scholarships to three outstanding third-year law students. The purpose of this committee is to help assist the Office of Financial Aid with the process of awarding each of the three scholarships. Committee members evaluate applications for scholarships and select students to be interviewed, participate in interviews, and outreach to selected candidates on behalf of the Board of Governors. In addition, Committee members assist the Law School with promoting the UPLAA Scholarship among Law alumni.

Committee Members: Katie McLay, Mike Nelson, Leland Schermer, Hon. Kim Eaton, Elizabeth Hughes

Nominating and Governance Committee

The Nominating and Governance Committee reviews the Law Alumni Association’s bylaws and make recommendations for any necessary modifications of amendments to the full Board of Governors. Committee members evaluate current needs and make-up of the Board, keeping in mind the importance of diversity, and nominate new members.

Committee Members: Tony Thompson, Hon. Mary Jane Bowes, Jaclyn Faulds, Sunu Pillai, Dan Klodowski, Katie McLay, Dan Tarr, Laura Bunting

Admissions and Recruitment Committee

The Admissions and Recruitment Committee assists the Admissions Office in helping to recruit top candidates to the University of Pittsburgh School of Law. Committee members represent the Law School at different recruiting events, make personal phone calls to admissions candidates, and participate on an admission panel.

Committee Members: Max Beier, Stu Benson, Hon. Marilyn Horan, Hon. Alan Hertzberg, Kevin Tucker

Alumni Engagement Committee

The Alumni Engagement Committee sponsors and hosts events, programming, and other activities to engage with Pitt Law Alumni. Committee members will attend, develop, and sponsor CLEs, speaker luncheons, meet and greet events, and Happy Hours.

Committee Members: Hon. Mary Jane Bowes, Laura Bunting, Max Beier, Lacee Ecker, Connor Sease, Dan Tarr, Joe Moran, Leland Schermer

Judicial Liaison Committee

The Judicial Liaison Committee sponsors and hosts events at which Pitt Law Alumni meet and interact with Judicial Alumni and other members of the judiciary serving on trial, appellate, and administrative benches. Committee members will collaborate with Judicial Alumni and plan lunches, meet and greet events, and Happy Hours with Alumni Judges.

Committee Members: Hon. Mike Wojcik, Hon. Bruce Beemer, Hon. Alan Hertzberg, Hon. Marilyn Horan, Kevin Tucker, John Paul Regan

Law School Outreach Committee

The Law School Outreach Committee assists the Professional Development Office by providing in-school programming on career paths/networking sessions/making contacts with and the professional mentoring of Pitt Law graduates.

Committee Members: Jaclyn Faulds, Lisa Lenihan, John Paul Regan, Bethany Miller, Hon. Michael Wojcik, Sunu Pillai, Hon. Richard Lanzillo

Young Alumni Committee

The Young Alumni Committee assists in connecting young alumni to the Law Alumni Association and engaging young alumni by creating events and programs to attract recent Pitt Law graduates.  Committee members will attend, develop, and sponsor  networking events, CLEs, lunch and learns, podcasts, happy hours, and similar events.

Committee Members: Kerven Moon, Alyssa Zottola, Dan Klodowski, Laura Bunting, Connor Sease

Black Alumni Committee

The Black Alumni Committee works to strengthen the professional and social network of Black alumni from Pitt Law nationally and internationally, increase the engagement of Black alumni with Pitt Law, and provide a support network for Black students of Pitt Law. Committee members attend networking events and events in partnership with the Black Law Students Association at Pitt Law.  Committee members also participate in informational events around current issues within the legal profession impacting all members of the Bar, but particularly Black alumni and law students. 

Committee Members: Bethany Miller, Tony Thompson, Elizabeth Hughes, Hon. Mary Jane Bowes

Social Media/Communications Committee

The Social Media/Communications Committee reviews and proposes updates to Law Alumni Association webpages. Committee members collaborate with Pitt Law’s Marketing and Communications Department and provide news of note relating to Pill Law alumni. 

Committee members: Alyssa Zottola, John Paul Regan, Jill Clark, Connor Sease, Hon. Mary Jane Bowes