COVID-19 Response

Learn how Pitt Law is building a healthy and resilient community

Please Note: The University of Pittsburgh School of Law's Barco Library is OPEN during regular library hours for Pitt Law faculty and students only.  Due to COVID-19 restrictions, we are not open to Pitt users outside of Pitt Law; and we are not open to the public. If you have questions, please contact the reference desk at 412-648-1325 or barcoref@pitt.edu

Resources for Engagement

Check this page frequently for information regarding events, forums, conferences and the like which facilitate personal-level involvement, action and commitment regarding diversity, equity and inclusion.

Pitt ASA x SASA x Crisis Relief Club Discussion on East / Southeast Asian Violence Tool Kit

This nine page virtual toolkit includes organizations to support, mental health resources and educational resources which combat violence against descendants of East / Southeast Asian and related communities who are located throughout the United States.

We Need to talk about Asian American Hate (YouTube video)

This video shows the rise of anti-Asian hate and attacks. Join Eugene for an in-depth conversation about the complex, often untold story of the Asian American community, the unique struggles they face, and find out how you can help.

Virtual Bystander Intervention Training

Asian Americans Advancing Justice are offering trainings and are continuing to work to provide more opportunities for folks to attend and learn these tools. Please note you must register in advance for all trainings. They will be capped at 1,000 people.
Monday March 29th at 3:00 PM ET/ 2:00 PM CT/ 1:00 PM MT/ 12:00 PM PT/ 10:00 AM HST. Register Here.
Monday April 5th 2021. 1pm EST/ 12PM CT/ 11am MT/ 10am PT/ 7am HST. Register Here
Wednesday April 14th 2021. 6:30pm EST/ 5:30pm CT/ 4:30pm MT/ 3:30pm PT/ 12:30 HST. Register Here
Thursday April 29th 2021. 3pm EST/ 2pm CT/ 1pm MT/ 12pm PT/ 9am HST. Register Here
 

Pitt Prison Education Project

Formed in 2016, The Pitt Prison Education Program (PPEP) is a network of Pitt faculty members from across the disciplines who teach courses in prisons in the western PA region. Courses are taught every semester on a variety of topics at SCI Fayette, Laurel Highlands, and Somerset. They feature small class sizes comprising incarcerated students and Pitt undergraduates. The courses are modeled on the Inside-Out prison exchange program that enables incarcerated and non-incarcerated people to encounter one another as human beings. The emphasis on collaborative learning invites people on both sides of prison walls to learn in a supportive environment. The classes embody Pitt’s commitment to excellence and are grounded in the pursuit of intellectual rigor, social justice, and personal growth.

Register now for the 2021 Lavendar Law Conference & Career Fair - Wed., July 28 - Fri., July 30, 2021 in Los Angeles, CA.

Since its inception in 1988, Lavender Law® has served as a ‘family reunion’ for LGBTQ+ and ally legal professionals to both look back at our shared history and to look forward to the future of the legal profession. The Lavender Law Conference & Career Fair is the largest LGBTQ+ legal conference in the country with approximately 1700 attendees attending annually. This year, the conference will take place in Los Angeles, CA from Wednesday, July 28 through Friday, July 30, 2021. The Career Fair will be held on Friday, July 30, the last day of the Conference. There is no “single day” registration. Similarly, there is no “Career Fair only” registration. All registration sales are final and non-refundable. For questions, please email conference@lgbtbar.org. Follow this link for registration.

Pitt Law Black Alumni Committee

The Pitt Law Black Alumni Committee is dedicated to strengthening the professional and social network of Black alumni from Pitt Law across the country and around the world. It is the intent of the committee to provide a support network for Black Pitt law students as well as the Black alumni of the law school. Through this network, the Committee aims to promote and cultivate diversity within the Pitt Law school community.

National Initiatives

Jacob Blake 

George Floyd 

Breonna Taylor

Ahmaud Arbery

Police Brutality


Pittsburgh-based Organizations

Black Political Empowerment Project (B-PEP)
2201 Wylie Avenue
Pittsburgh, PA 15219
412-212-8775 (Office)

Greater Pittsburgh Coalition against Violence (BCAV)

Corporate Equity & Inclusion Roundtable (CEIR)

1Hood Media
460 Melwood Avenue
Pittsburgh, PA 15213
412-345-1192 (Office)
E-mail: info@1hood.org

Black Girls Equity Alliance
711 West Commons; Third Floor
Pittsburgh, PA 15212
412-904-4239 (Office)

Urban League of Greater Pittsburgh
The Warner Center
332 Fifth Avenue; Fourth Floor
Pittsburgh, PA 15222
412-227-4802 (Office)

Three Rivers Community Foundation 
100 North Braddock Avenue; Suite 302
Pittsburgh, PA 15208
412-243-9250 (Office)